SOU’WESTER ARTIST RESIDENCY

Art-Res-7

The Sou’Wester Lodge is located in Seaview, Washington on the Long Beach Peninsula. It’s about 15 miles north of Astoria, Oregon. While guests can book a room in the main lodge or dwell in a cabin, the most alluring place to stay is in one of the vintage trailers and airstreams.

Art-Res-8-sm

Last week I had the pleasure of staying at the Sou’Wester. During my residency, I resided in a vintage trailer for five days and worked on issue four of my comic book series, Gumballs.

Art-Res-1-sm

Calm and quiet are the best words to describe my time there. It was very peaceful. For the most part, the only sounds I heard came from the podcasts I listened to, the birds chirping outside my window, vinyl records spinning, and two days of solid rain. Overall, it gave me a distraction-free place to work.

Art-Res-2

Every day I woke up at 5 AM, made coffee, and began working. By 10 PM, I’d put my pen down, and go to bed.

Art-Res-3-sm

To break up the monotony and avoid cabin fever, I made a couple trips into Long Beach and walked on the beach.

Art-Res-5

By the end of my visit, I felt a sense of achievement. I was pleased with my output.

Art-Res-4-sm

You can read more about my time at the Sou’wester in Gumballs, Issue 4 (Release Date TBA)

Leave a Reply

